Cast a Spell: Pick the spell you want to play from your spellbook. Then, pay its vim cost, which is found on the top-right of the spell. Then reveal the spell to your opponent and use its ability. After the ability is done, place it in your graveyard.
If the ability has italic text at the beginning, then it has a condition that must be met before it can be played. For more information, see the Abilities section later in the guide.
If the ability has the word enchant, you place the spell underneath a valid card. When the enchanted card is removed from the battlefield, place the spell in your graveyard. You can even enchant your opponent’s cards! But when they are removed from the battlefield, the spell goes to your graveyard, not theirs.
Attack: First select one of your summons. Then pay the cost to attack, called Acting. By turning a card on its side, you spend its action. A card only has one action while facing forward, and when it turns on its side, it loses its action. In other words, a card on its side has already acted, and cannot act again until it returns to facing forward. This means that an acted summon cannot attack, since the cost to attack is to act.
Then, select any other summon on the battlefield to attack. You can even select one of your own summons! Remember: A summon can attack any other summon on the battlefield, regardless of where the summons are located.
Finally, compare the Strength values of the battlers, which is found on the bottom right of the summon. Strength is a number that represents both the “attack power” and “health points” of the summon. Both summons are Dealt damage equal to the other’s strength, and will Take damage up to the amount of strength they have. A summon cannot take more damage than its strength, since strength also represents its health points.
For example, when a summon with 500 strength battles a summon with 2 strength, the weaker summon is dealt 500 damage, and the stronger summon is dealt 2 damage. Both summons take 2 damage, with the stronger summon being left with 498 strength, and the weaker summon being left with 0 strength.
Finally, check if a summon’s strength became 0. If a summon’s strength becomes 0, it is defeated. Send it to the owner’s graveyard after using any abilities that happen when a summon gets defeated.
- Player Attack: You may also attack a player to lower their life. To attack an opponent, the column of the summon you are attacking with must not have a summon in it. Act with the attacking summon, like normal, and then declare that you are player attacking.
(You can ignore wizards when player attacking. Think of them as being up in the castle with you, looking down on the battle occurring below them)
Your opponent, at this moment, may choose to defend the attack by taking a summon in an adjacent column and moving it over to block. If they choose to block, a normal battle happens. Otherwise, the opponent is dealt damage equal to the attacking summon’s strength. Note that there is no cost to block, and the attacking summon is not dealt damage for successfully attacking a player.
An opponent who has not started their first turn is treated like they haven’t walked up to the battlefield yet. This means you do not have an opponent until they start their first turn, so you are unable to attack them and any ability that would effect them does not.
But, you may attack yourself, if you feel like it.
As a review of attacking: A summon may attack any other summon, but in order to attack an opponent, the summon you’re attacking with must not have another summon in front of it.
Summon Your Boss: First, look at its summoning condition. If that condition is met, you may turn your boss face-up during your main phase. They are treated exactly like summons and can do everything a normal summon can do, including declare attacks, get attacked, use abilities, etc.
However, because these summons have the special name “boss,” they have some additional rules attached. (These rules can be visualized if you picture your boss as if it is covering your entire battlefield)
- Bosses are not treated as summons in the case of abilities. If an ability says, “Deal 3 damage to a summon”, it will not work on a boss. Likewise, if an ability says, “Deal 3 damage to a boss”, it will not work on a summon.
- Bosses can block player attacks even if they aren’t in a column adjacent to the attack. However, when a boss blocks, it does not leave its current spot.
- Bosses can only attack an opponent if they have no summons and have no face-up boss. In other words, if their battlefield is completely open.